2015 To Bring Unified Towing Ratings to Detroit’s Big 3

Ram 1500Light-truck owners around the world, rejoice! All those years of confusing, un-standardized towing ratings are coming to an end—Automotive News recently reported that the Detroit Big 3 of General Motors, Ford, and Chrysler will soon adopt a standardized towing rating system. The system will go into effect very soon, in time to be applied to the 2015 model year trucks.

The new standard, called the SAE J2807—SAE stands for Society of Automotive Engineers—was originally adopted only by Toyota in 2011. But with the Big 3 on board, this towing rating should really take off. While it only applies to light-duty trucks for now, if the new rating system is a success, perhaps it will inspire a standardization movement for the larger truck segments as well.

So get ready to come in to Cumberland Chrysler Center soon and check out the 2015 models of our trucks—which you’ll easily be able to benchmark using the new SAE J2807 system!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s